Collier voters choose a sheriff and vote in other races


These are the highlights of Tuesday’s ballot in Collier:

*Three Republican candidates face off for a final decision on who becomes Collier County sheriff. Because no Democrat or party-unaffiliated candidate is running, all voters can cast a ballot in this race. Whoever gets the most votes becomes the next sheriff, even if a majority vote isn’t achieved by any of the three.

Sheriff Don Hunter isn’t running again. The candidates for a four-year term are former Undersheriff and former Naples Police Chief Kevin Rambosk, limousine company owner Vincent “Vinny” Angiolillo and private investigator Victor Ortino.

*Collier School Board member Kathleen Curatolo seeks re-election against challenger Rick MacClugage, a Barron Collier High graduate who owned Courtesy Automotive for 20 years. This is a nonpartisan race for a four-year term, so the top vote-getter wins Tuesday. It’s open to all registered voters in Collier County.

*School Board member Linda Abbott faces five challengers in another nonpartisan race open to all voters countywide. She is challenged by Gulf Coast High School teacher Julie Sprague; local businessman Mark Swanson; Lely High School substitute teacher Gary Smith; Adrienne Markopolos, an intervention program supervisor at David Lawrence Center; and Joe Paterno, executive director of the Southwest Florida Workforce Development Board.

To win Tuesday, one of the six would have to receive at least 50 percent plus one vote. If none of the six does that, the top two vote-getters return to the ballot in November for a final decision.

  • Some Republicans can vote for either incumbent Collier Commissioner Jim Coletta or challenger Roberto Alonso in the Republican County Commission primary. Then in November, the winner faces Russell Kish, a Democrat. This is open only to registered Republicans in District 5, including Golden Gate Estates, Immokalee and the Everglades City area.
  • Public Defender for Southwest Florida is on the GOP ballot. All Republican voters in Collier County as well as those in four other counties choose a party nominee to face a write-in candidate in November. On Tuesday’s ballot are Kathy Smith, appointed by Gov. Charlie Crist in February to succeed the late Robert Jacobs, defense attorney Rex Darrow of Naples and veteran attorney Brian Boyle.
  • Democratic voters in House District 101 choose between Maria Jimenez, a Golden Gate resident, and Samuel Lopez, of Pembroke Pines. The winner goes on to face current office holder Rep. Matt Hudson, R-Naples, in November. The district spans eastern Collier and western Broward counties.
  • In a small part of rural eastern Collier County, Democrats in House District 112 choose between Betty Gaffney and Juan Espinosa, both of Miami, with the winner facing incumbent Republican David Rivera of Miami in November.
  • State Committeeman in Collier. Voters choose among Michael D. Lyster, Douglas L. Rankin and Frank Schwerin.
  • Precinct 317 Committeeman between S. Bruce Millon and Donald L. Towns.
  • Precinct 210 Committeewoman between Cheryl A. DeShaies and Sally Gene Frederick.

There will be other legislative, Congressional and fire commission races on November’s ballot, plus some issues and final votes on any of the races not decided Tuesday.

For information sign onto or call (239) 252-8450.

  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.