IT'S YOUR BUSINESS: Business news releases Thursday, Sept. 3, 2009

Collier EDC elects 2009-10 board

The Economic Development Council of Collier County elected a new Board of Directors that will serve for fiscal year 2009-10 beginning Oct. 1, 2009.

“This newly elected Board brings a wealth of qualifications to the organization,” said Tammie Nemecek, EDC president.

Newly elected directors: Lois A. Bolin, president, Success Fulfillment Inc., Co-Founder, Naples Backyard History; Ames Cossetta, president and CEO, 4What Interactive; Travis Coulter, senior vice president and chief preconstruction officer, Kraft Construction; William Dempsey, partner, Cheffy Passidomo; James J. Lamb, area director enterprise sales, EMBARQ Michael Turner, president & CEO, Air Technology Inc.

Ex-officio: Nancy Ann Payton, Southwest Florida field representative, Florida Wildlife Federation; Richard Botthof, Vice Chairman of the Board, Naples Trust Co.; Chad Phipps, Vice President Devonshire Fund, president and founder, Young Professionals of Naples.

The 2009-10 EDC Board of Directors will be led by Chairman William R. O’Neill, partner, Roetzel & Andress, LPA. Other EDC Officers are Chairman Elect, Robert J. Mulhere, vice president of RWA, Inc.; Immediate Past Chairman Julie A. Schmelzle, senior vice president, Bank of America; vice president of finance, Carol F. Shaw, executive director of David Lawrence Foundation; vice president Project Innovation, Chris Doyle, president and publisher, Naples Daily News; vice president investor relations, John M. Gleeson, principal for Gleeson Real Estate Consulting; vice president economic gardening, Timothy Cartwright, managing director, Fifth Avenue Advisors.

The newly elected Board members/officers are joined by the following continuing members of the Board: Dr. Jeff Allbritten, president of Edison State College, Collier Campus; Trish Briebricher, vice president of marketing and communications, Moorings Park; Kevin D. Cooper, general counsel/chief of staff for NCH Healthcare System; Michael Dill, director of continuous improvement, CIRCOR Aerospace; Richard C. Grant, president Grant, Fridkin, Pearson, Athan & Crown, P.A.; Richard Pegnetter, dean of the College of Business at Florida Gulf Coast University; John Pinholster, president, Regenesis Power; Mark R. Schlehr, market president for Wachovia, Susan Takacs, chief operating officer, Physicians Regional Hospital; Patrick L. Utter, vice president of commercial real estate, Collier Enterprises, Ltd.

- Contributed by the Economic Development Council of Collier County

* * * * *

Bonita chamber announces 2009-10 Leadership Bonita class

The Bonita Springs Area Chamber of Commerce has announced the beginning of the 11th anniversary class of the Leadership Bonita program this month with a 21⁄2-day retreat that begins Sept. 17.

Leadership Bonita is a nine-month educational program that covers the many different aspects of the community. It is designed to hone leadership skills, create the opportunity for personal growth, and help participants learn more about the Bonita Springs area. The monthly sessions are both fun, informative, and provide one-on-one networking with community leaders. Participants are selected based upon their leadership roles within their organization and represent a cross-section of the community, including business, education, government, not-for-profit and also citizens at-large. The Leadership Bonita class is proud to boast more than 200 graduates of the program since its inception in 1998.

2009-10 Leadership Bonita Class: Laura Ambrose, Insurance Producer, Brown & Brown Insurance; Joseph Ariola, Senior Vice President, Key Bank; William “Bill” Banfield, Financial Advisor, Wells Fargo Advisers; Jasen Berube, Realtor, Downing-Frye Realty, Inc. dba Encompass Realty Group; Lissa Craig-Ford, sales manager, the News-Press; Claudie Delgado-Feeney, D.M.D., partner, Bonita Estero Dental Group; Bob DiPesa, sales manager, Wholesale Screen Printing & Embroidery; Gail Dolan, Ed. D., R.N., M.A., CNAA, Chief Operating Officer, NCH-North Collier Hospital; Chad Gillis, editor – The Banner, Naples News Media Group; Nicole Giuliano, assistant public education and information officer, Bonita Springs Fire Control & Rescue District; Steven Kissinger, Chief Financial Officer, Children’s Advocacy Center of Collier County; John Kozak, Senior Vice President, FineMark Bank; Joseph Murgalo, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Resort & Spa; Sean Murphy, Senior Account Manager, RBC Bank; Meredith Pooler, Account/Marketing Executive, Carter-Pritchett Outdoor Advertising, Inc.; Christine Ross, president & CEO, Bonita Springs Area Chamber of Commerce; Adam Sedwick, lieutenant, Lee County Sheriff’s Office; William Shikany, Owner/Director, Shikany’s Bonita Funeral Home; Maribel Slabaugh, executive director, Bonita Springs Assistance Office; and James Underwood, executive director, YMCA of the Palms-Bonita Springs.

- Contributed by the Bonita Springs Area Chamber of Commerce

* * * * *

Land institute seeks nominations

The Urban Land Institute (ULI) Southwest Florida District Council announced it is seeking nominations for its newly created Sustainability Awards.

The Sustainability Awards are designed to annually recognize and celebrate progress made by individuals, organizations or corporations towards making the region more sustainable. This platform will provide an opportunity for future sustainable practices to build off of the successes of others and to take note of lessons learned along the way.

To be sustainable means to change our communities and our economy to utilize and restore our environment so that our actions today do not compromise future generations. People and organizations that demonstrate innovation, leadership and have a positive impact on the region are invited to submit nominations for the Sustainability Awards.

There are two categories for entry: Impact Award: Nominations that demonstrate measurable results that positively impact Southwest Florida; and Trailblazer Award: Nominations for an individual whose personal work has helped to shape the sustainability movement in the Southwest Florida region.

Entries will be reviewed and considered by a panel of jurors selected by the District Council. A winner will be determined by a majority vote of the panel. Only one Sustainability Award will be issued in each category annually. All nominees will be featured on the Urban Land Institute Southwest Florida District Web site at All finalists will be celebrated and the winners of each award category will be announced at an awards ceremony during the Oct. 23 sustainability conference at Florida Gulf Coast University.

To receive a nomination form, contact Heather A. Francis, ULI District Council coordinator, at The deadline for entries is Sept. 30.

- Contributed by the Urban Land Institute

* * * * *

After all, it’s your business.

So we have added this feature to called It’s Your Business.

Have news about your business to share with Southwest Florida? Send it to and to our Business and Government Content Editor Dave Osborn at We’ll post these on the Business page at every day and will publish these as space allows in the daily Business section and Business Monday in the Naples Daily News. Start watching online daily for these postings!

© 2009 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Related Stories

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.