Photo Gallery: Record 262 runners meet Marco hills challenge

Roger LaLonde Staff
Lely's Ulisses Vivar jumps in front at the start of the 29th annual Marco 5 Mile Hill Run on Saturday morning. Vivar finished third in his maole 15-19 age group.

Photo by ROGER LALONDE // Buy this photo

Roger LaLonde Staff Lely's Ulisses Vivar jumps in front at the start of the 29th annual Marco 5 Mile Hill Run on Saturday morning. Vivar finished third in his maole 15-19 age group.

— Although a dreary, wet day, a record 262 runners met the challenge of the Marco Island hills in the 29th annual 5 Mile Hill Run on Saturday.

The overall male winner was Kurt Roeser, 23, of Naples, recording a time of 27:00, while the best female was Kacy Smith, 15, of Estero, in a time of 30:01.

The overall masters winner was Matthew Novack, 43, of Delray Beach, in a time of 30:39. Female masters winner was Lisa Buchler, 41, Lehigh Acres, recording a time of 32:13.

“It was another great race, with people coming from a lot of places,” Mark McGarity, race chairman said. “People plan their vacation to participate in the race. We have consistently been over 200 participants for many years.”

Marco winners included Dawn Snyder, female 45-49 age group; Mary Thieman, 65-69 and Craig Carlson, 70-74.

Other Marco male finishes included: Tanner Fulcher, second in the 14 and under group; Brandon Black, 11th in 15-19; Neil Mastellone, third, 30-34; Joel Gonzalez, third, 35-39; Chris Black, sixth, Joe Manento, eighth and Shawn Hurley, ninth, 40-44; Carlos Escarra, 11th, Gene Fulcher, 15th and Jim Prange, 22nd, 50-54; Paul Tateo, seventh, 55-59; Ray Feeley, eighth, 60-64; Bruce Davis, eighth, 65-69; Jim Kelley, fourth and Ted Thieman fifth, 70-74.

Marco female finishes: Morgan Dulski, second, 14 and under; Jade Dworkin, second, 15-19; Lisa Dolezel, second, 35-39; Mary Vitello, fifth, Michelle Thomas, 11th, Stephanie Davis, 12th and Melissa Prange, 13th in 40-44; Shelli Connelly, sixth, Kim McIntosh, eighth, 45-49; Nancy Dworkin, sixth, 50-54; Sammy Miller, fourth, 60-64.

Sean Duffy of the Gulf Coast Runners Club took care of the finish line results.

Funds raised from the event go to the Lely High School Running Club.

The female winners by age group, include:

Under 14, Bethany Jenkins of Bonita Springs, 33:02; 15-19, Katie Slater of Estero, 33:42; 20-24, Ali Gardino of Naples, 34:14; 25-29, Julie Adams, Naples, 33:40; 30-34, Joanna Citarella, Naples, 35:57; 35-39, Beth Schadd, McCall, Idaho, 33:37; 40-44, Kelsey Reller, Naples, 36:53; 45-49, Dawn Snyder, Marco Island, 45:22; 50-54, Erica Szilagyi-Norgart, Naples, 36:14; 55-59, Connie Crandell, Naples, 49:20; 60-64, Anke Stimson, North Fort Myers, 44:10 and 65-69, Marilyn Thieman, Marco Island, 1:03:26.

Male winners by age group:

Under 14, Ricky Ledesma, Bonita Springs, 29:45; 15-19, Jose Cartagena, Fort Myers, 29:45; 20-24, Derek Anderson, Naples, 36:36; 25-29, Andy Nesheim, Mequon, Wisconsin, 29:18; 30-34, Bernie Martinez, Immokalee, 30:57; 35-39, Matt Reedy, Naples, 28:45; 40-44, Peter Rolon, Naples, 28:45; 45-49, Manuel Montoya, Fort Myers, 32:03; 50-54, David Duckworth, Naples, 32:51; 55-59, Robert Defrancesco, Bonita Springs, 33:53; 60-64, Charles Galloway, Bainbridge Island, Washington, 35:09; 65-69, Louis Marjon, North For Myers, 34:39 and 70-74, Craig Carlson, Marco Island, 42:17.

For complete results go to

© 2010 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Related Stories

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.