PHOTO GALLERY: Island Country Club Foundation scores big

9th annual tourney raises more than $50,000

The Island Country Club Foundation scored on its Ninth Annual Golf Charity Tournament on Monday.

This year more than $50,00 was raised, with the final count still to come, said Wes Blackwell, Foundation chairman.

“We have raised more than $1 million over nine years and all the money goes back to the community,” he said.

The Foundation has helped organizations such as the Shelter for Abused Woman, Avow Hospice, the Marco Island Center for the Arts, Marco Island Healthcare Center, Habitat for Humanity of Collier County, the Marco Island YMCA and the Ronald McDonald Care Mobile.

In this golf outing the top five teams determine what charity they will give their share of the prize winnings.

First place of $5,000 was won by Vip Grover, Sean Shea, Brian Day Patrick Layton and Scott Gibbs, tallying a low gross score of 54. Their winnings go to the Marco Island Center for the Arts.

Winning $4,000 were second-place finishers Wayne and Kyle Kappauf, Shad White, Michael Blean and James Kauffman, recording a score of 60. Their winnings go to the Marco Healthcare Center.

In third place were Ann Betz, Bill and Louann Voss, Byron and Janice Farrell with a score of 61. Their earnings of $3,000 were divided, with $2,000 going to the Shelter for Abused Women and $1,000 to Avow Hospice.

Fourth place finishers were Terry and Andrea McCreanor, Pat Murphy and Rick McConnell, with a score of 62. There earnings of $2,000 was split evenly, with $500 going to Habitat for Humanity, the Marco Island Charter Middle School, Shelter for Abused Women and the Neighborhood Clinic.

In fifth place, tallying a score of 63, were Jerry Smith, Anthony Gargiulo, James Wilson, Larry Paladino and Tom Horton. Their $1,000 in prize money went to Avow Hospice.

“The designated money from the five teams is about one third of the total earned,” Blackwell said. “The remainder of the distribution will be determined by the board.”

In the team Skills Tourney, which involved longest drive, closest to the pin, chipping and putting, the winning team was Ann Betz, Louann and Bill Voss, Janice and Byron Farrell.

© 2010 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.