Editorial: Golden Apple Awards ... 6 teachers get their due

The spotlight shines on six very special professionals this evening.

The 20th anniversary presentation of the annual Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Awards honors six educators chosen by the Collier County Education Foundation from the publicly nominated field for special recognition.

They care about young people and their futures — and they have a special knack for the hard work of imparting knowledge, day in and day out.

This year the recipients are: Jean Lorenz of Naples High School; Kate Hickie of Naples Park Elementary School; Angela Loerzel of Pelican Marsh Elementary School; Diane Fontdevila of Osceola Elementary School; and Jon Mundorf and Lisa Braren of Tommie Barfield Elementary School.

They bring differences in experience and students.

They share a common bond: they have done their homework.

See for yourself. The awards will be televised live from the Naples Philharmonic Center for the Arts on the Education Channel (Comcast Cable 99) from 7 to 8:30 p.m., and rebroadcast on WINK-TV (Cable 5) on Saturday at 7 p.m. and Sunday at noon and 7 p.m.

Golden moments are in store.

© 2010 marconews.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Related Stories

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.