Editorial: We recommend for upcoming election

Summary of endorsements by the editorial board of the Daily News for the Nov. 2 general election:

U.S. Senate

Charlie Crist, independent.

Also in race: Marco Rubio, Republican, and Kendrick Meek, Democrat

U.S. House

District 14 (Collier/Lee)

√ Connie Mack IV, Republican

Also in race: Jim Roach, Democrat, and William Maverick St. Claire, independent

District 25 (Collier/Miami-Dade)

David Rivera, Republican

Also in race: Joe Garcia, Democrat


Alex Sink, Democrat

Also in race: Rick Scott, Republican

Commissioner of agriculture

and consumer services

Adam Putnam, Republican

Also in race: Scott Maddox, Democrat

Attorney general

Dan Gelber, Democrat

Also in race: Pam Bondi, Republican

Chief financial officer

Jeff Atwater, Republican

Also in race: Loranne Ausley, Democrat

Florida amendments

Amendment 1

Repeal of public campaign financing

Vote yes

Amendment 2

Homestead tax credit for deployed military personnel

Vote yes

Amendment 4

Comprehensive land use plans referendums

Vote no

Amendments 5 and 6

Standards for the Legislature to follow in state and congressional redistricting

Vote yes on both amendments

Amendment 8

Revision of the class-size requirements for public schools

Vote yes

Straw ballot on balanced budgets

Vote no

Florida Legislature


Florida House 101

Matt Hudson, Republican

Also in race: Larry Wilcoxson, no party affiliation


Florida House 112

√ Jeanette Nunez, Republican

Also in race: Sandra Ruiz, Democrat

Collier and Lee

Florida House 75

√ Stephen Cosgrove, no party affiliation

Also in race: Trudi Williams, Republican


Florida House 73

√ Cole Peacock, Democrat

Also in race: Matt Caldwell, Republican


Florida Senate 27

√ Lizbeth Benacquisto, Republican

Also in race: Kevin Rader, Democrat

School boards

Collier County

District 1

√ Pat Carroll

Also in race: Rosanne Winter

District 3

√ Kathy Ryan

Also in race: Barbara Berry

District 5

√ Joe Whitehead

Also in race: Roy Terry.

Lee County

District 1

√ Arnold Gibbs

Also in race: Mary Fischer

Lee County Commission

District 1

√ Carla Johnston, no party affiliation

Also in race: John Manning, Republican

District 2

√ Brian Bigelow, Republican

Also in race: Debbie Jordan, Democrat

District 4

√ Tammy Hall, Republican

Also in race: Debbie Jackow, independent.

Straw ballots

Golden Gate Estates shopping center


Fire district consolidation:

Collier County


East Naples


Mosquito control boards

Collier County, Seat 2

√ Bob Geroy

Also in race: David Randall

Lee County

√ Sarah Larsen

Also in race: Joe Burgess

Soil and water boards

Collier County, Seat 4

√ Laurie Mitchell

Also in race: Tom Cravens

Lee County, Seat 1

√ Terry Miller

Also in race: R.W. Edenfield

Fire district boards

East Naples

Seat 4

√ Rob Boyer

Also in race: Kyle Jameson


Seat 1

√ Albert Lee

Also in race: Ski Olesky

Big Corkscrew Island

Seat 3

√ Paul Plamondon

Also in race: Loretta Marie Blanco

Bonita Springs

Seat 1

√ Ed FitzGerald

Also in race: Robert Sharkey

Seat 3

√ Evans Conforti

Also in race: Alex Grantt

Seat 5

√ Pat McCourt

Also in race: Frank Liles


Seat 1

√ Fred Partin

Also in race: Richard Cavuto

Seat 5

√ Sean James

Also in race: Dave Davenport

Lee County judge

Group 3

√ Miguel Fernandez

Also in race: Frank Mann Jr.

Lee Memorial Health System board

District 2 (Vote for two)

√ Richard Akin

√ Nancy McGovern

Also in race: Aaron Babb and Liston Bochette

District 4 (Vote for two)

√ Dr. John Lawlor

√ Chris Hansen

Also in race: Diane Champion, Gary Eidson, Frank La Rosa, Dawson McDaniel.

District 5 (Vote for one)

√ Dr. Bill Silverman

Also in race: Don Brown, Tyler Dupuy, Donald Laubheimer

© 2010 marconews.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Related Stories

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.