Gov. Scott to consider 5 for upcoming opening on Lee County Court

Five names have been sent to Gov. Rick Scott for the upcoming opening on the Lee County Court.

The Judicial Nominating Commission for the Twentieth Judicial Circuit submitted the names of Francine Donnorummo, Miguel C. Fernandez III, Amy R. Hawthorne, Lisa S. Porter and Howard Andrew Swett.

Scott will have 60 days to choose a candidate to replace Judge John Duryea, who is moving to the Circuit Court on Aug. 29.

The five finalists were chosen from a pool of 27 applicants who were interviewed on Thursday and Friday. Only Fernandez ran for a county judge seat in 2010, receiving 43.5 percent of the vote to Frank Mann Jr.’s 56.5 percent.

© 2011 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.