Two Southwest Floridians selected as RNC delegates

Gary Lee, Chairman, Lee County Republicans on NewsMakers

Gary Lee, Chairman, Lee County Republicans on NewsMakers

Frank Schwerin on NewsMakers

Frank Schwerin on NewsMakers

Two Southwest Florida Republicans have been selected as delegates for the party’s national convention next week in Tampa, the Republican Party of Florida announced Wednesday.

Frank Schwerin and Gary Lee, chairmen of the Collier and Lee county Republican executive committees, respectively, were chosen to represent Florida’s 14th congressional district. Three other Southwest Floridians — Naples attorney Douglas Rankin, Naples resident Nancy D’Agostino and Cape Coral state Rep. Gary Aubuchon — were chosen as alternates. The alternates won’t have voting rights because the state was stripped of half its delegates for moving up its primary date.

Gov. Rick Scott and his wife, Ann, were chosen as at-large delegates, as were other notable Republicans including Lt. Gov. Jennifer Carroll and state House Speaker Dean Cannon. Naples Mayor John Sorey, Naples tea party leader Lavigne Kirkpatrick and Naples resident Janet Glassman are alternate at-large delegates.

The convention begins Monday. The release of the delegate list was delayed as state party members negotiated with the Republican National Committee about seating all of the state’s 99 delegates.

© 2012 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.