Record number compete in Hideaway Tennis tourney

The 2nd Annual Hideaway Beach Open Doubles tournament featured 94 tennis players from all over Collier County and beyond, easily outdoing the record number of entries a year ago.

Competitors represented Hideaway Beach, Fiddler’s Creek, Marco Island Racquet Center, Marco Island YMCA, Cape Marco, Eagle Creek, Player’s Club, Pelican Bay and the Longboat Key Club in Sarasota.

This year, we added the 4.0 divisions - in both the men’s and women’s events. The winning teams were undefeated. In particular, Ann Campisi and Jackie Pham were unbeatable this past weekend as they braved the sweltering heat and finally the wind to capture this prestigious title.

On the men’s side, former Gulfview Middle School teacher (Lafayette College) Walt Lewis paired up with brand new partner, Rick Eichman (Central Missouri State) to go undefeated. Over the three-day event, hundreds of people were treated to great tennis and good ole Hideaway Beach hospitality as chairperson Susie Kluger assembled an amazing group of volunteers to help run this top-level event.

“This is the greatest event I have ever played in, thank you so much for having me play,” one of our 3.5 doubles champions declared after posting his exciting victory.

Hideaway Beach tennis has already secured the future date. Remember the first weekend of March, 2013 and we will feature 3.0, 3.5 and 4.0 divisions.

All competitions were in doubles. Here are the final results:

Women’s 4.0 Champions: Ann Campisi and Jackie Pham; finalists: Maria Hayden and Rachel Schenk.

Men’s 4.0 Champions: Rick Eichman and Walt Lewis; finalists, Bob Slack and Mike DeLasser.

Women’s 3.5 Champions: Ty Brechenridge and Kelly Gulling; finalists, Isabelle Adly and Barb Rasmussen.

Consolation Champions: Christine Coe and Lucia Sherman.

Men’s 3.5 Champions: Bill Rasmussen and Irv Povlow; finalists, Boris Pavichevich and Anthony Taradjian.

Consolation Winners: Monson Douglas and Alphonse Pitre.

Women’s 3.0 Champions: Jennifer Bonfitto and Andrea Washak; finalists: Stephanie Curnd and Julady Tibbs.

Consolation winners: Dodie Farmer and Cathy Gulling.

Men’s 3.0 Champions: James Curland and Tony Inzerillo; finalists: Mark Ryan and Steve Mattingly.

Consolation winners: Donald R. Rooney and F. Douglas Davis.

© 2012 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.