Prep football: Naples' Manny Morgan leads FACA honorees

Naples running back Manny Morgan (27) looks for a path to the end zone in the second quarter of the Naples-Lely Coconut Bowl football game Friday, Nov. 2 at Lely High School.

Photo by DAVID ALBERS // Buy this photo

Naples running back Manny Morgan (27) looks for a path to the end zone in the second quarter of the Naples-Lely Coconut Bowl football game Friday, Nov. 2 at Lely High School.

The Florida Athletic Coaches Association football coaches have released the All-District 18 team, as well as their coaches and players of the year.

The district covers all of Southwest Florida, and two Naples schools swept the Player and Coach of the Year awards.

Naples High School running back Manny Morgan was named District 18 Player of the Year. Morgan and head coach Bill Kramer were named Player and Coach of the Year in 6A, and First Baptist Academy's Jonah Bueltel and coach Billy Sparacio were named the tops in 2A.

Immokalee cornerback Mackensie Alexander (5A) was the Player of the Year in his class. Scott Jones of East Lee County was named District Coach of the Year.

Other award winners: Johnell Barnes, Dunbar, 4A Player; Clyde Newton, Charlotte, 7A Player; Jordan Odaffer, LaBelle, 4A Coach; Binky Waldrop, Charlotte, 7A Coach.

Academic All-State: Whit Wiggens, Southwest Florida Christian, 2A; Derek Bass, LaBelle, 4A; Ian McCallum, 5A, Cape Coral; Zack Diaczynsky, Naples, 6A; Jake Bernard, Gulf Coast, 7A

FACA All-District 18

Large school


QB — Kilton Anderson, jr., Naples; RB — Manny Morgan, sr., Naples; RB — Devon Calhoun, sr., Island Coast; WR — Dwight Reynolds, jr,. Charlotte; WR — Eddie Collins, sr., South Fort Myers; TE — Mike Heuerman, sr., Barron Collier; C — Jorge Friedrich, jr., Naples; OL — Dan Oak, jr., Fort Myers; OL — Cody Fordham, sr., South Fort Myers; OL — Dan Gallman, sr., Naples; OL — Tate Hernly, sr., Fort Myers; K — Austin Taylor, sr., Charlotte; UT — T.J. Johnson, sr., Island Coast


DL — Regie Meant, sr., Ida Baker; DL — Brady Pallante, jr., Barron Collier; DL — Darius Copeland, sr., Fort Myers; DL — Will Cunningham, sr., Ida Baker; LB — Clyde Newton, sr., Charlotte; LB — Jake Berman, sr., Barron Collier; LB — D'Ronzjiah Mathews, jr., South Fort Myers; CB — T.J. Douglas, sr., Fort Myers; CB — Jules Dornevil, sr., Naples; SS — Dwayne Reynolds, jr., Charlotte; FS — Jayron Kearse, sr., South Fort Myers; P — Connor Kammerlocher, sr., South Fort Myers; UT — Brian Donnelly, jr., Naples

Honorable mention (from Daily News coverage area)

Barron Collier — Conner Reynolds; Tony Lesende; Ben Huber; Steven Dekevich; Bram Epstein

Naples — Duntae Gebrehewariat, S; Jordan Perez, S; Patrick Goodall, DE; Trevor Hobbs, DT; Zach Diaczynsky, DT; Frank Cirone, OL; Cody Weeks, OL; Alejandro Gallegos, OL; Connor Phillips, TE; Travis Manhardt, WR

Palmetto Ridge — Theo Curto, SS; Ron Johnson, RB; Chase Davis, OT; Alex Hesketh, G; Brett Fritchey, DT; John Thomas, LB; Isael Carrasco, CB

South Fort Myers — Andrew Dailidonis, QB; Montrel Frei, G; John Kelly, LB; Kenny Bishop, S; Antwan Dixon, CB; Alex Dejesus, TE

Small school


QB — Tshumbi Johnson, sr., Immokalee; RB — Eric McFadden, sr., Estero; RB — D'Ernest Johnson, jr., Immokalee; WR — Jacky Marcellus, sr., Immokalee; WR — Johnell Barnes, sr., Dunbar; TE — Sheldon Fleming, sr., East Lee County; C — Mike Campbell, sr., Immokalee; OL — Chase Nixon, sr., Cape Coral; OL — Caleb Rimes, jr., LaBelle; OL — Vially Desronvil, sr., East Lee County; OL — Brandon James, sr., Estero; K — Ricky Lopez, sr., Estero; UT — Jonah Bueltel, First Baptist


DL — David Vasquez, sr., Estero; DL — Greg Houston, sr., Dunbar; DL — Deadrin Senat, sr., Immokalee; DL — Cordell Riggens, sr., Dunbar; LB — Bryant Richardson, sr., East Lee County; LB — Mackenro Alexander, sr., Immokalee; LB — Karbiel Dirogene, jr., Lely; CB — Kendall Sawyer, jr., East Lee County; CB — Mackensie Alexander, sr,. Immokalee; SS — Malcolm Perry, sr., Lely; FS — Taj Battle, jr., Dunbar; P — Justin Kuchle, sr., Mariner; UT — Ian McCallum, sr., Cape Coral

Honorable mention (from Daily News coverage area)

Community School — Jonathan Baker, WR; Drew Tomaini, QB; Charlie Allen, DE; Emerson Rowe, WR

Estero — Christian Phillips, QB; Kyle Brown, LB

First Baptist — Seth Penner, OT; Zac Williams, LB; Corey Todd, QB; Kyle Radcliff, S; Dylon Brocious, LB; Alex Diaz, LB; G.A. de la Reyes, TE; Ben Ritter, CB

Golden Gate — Dre Anthony, LB

Immokalee — Jummy Victorin, WR; Xavier Richardson, WR; J.C. Jackson, WR; Kerby Henry, OT; Berdino Salas, G

Lely — Claudel Alix, DE; L.J. Greenidge, DE; Eddie Carey, OT; Adam Hurdis, G; Chrisnell German, CB; Jose Olalde, P; Ritlity Absolu, K; Colson Nicolas, CB.

St. John Neumann — Ryan O'Rourke, Kendrick Mouton, Johnny Augustin, A.J. Maynor, Egan Burcky, Liam Pembroke

© 2012 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.