Social Scene: AAUW spring luncheon at Bistro Soleil

Jodi Pree
Special to the Eagle


AAUW spring luncheon at Bistro Soleil

The AAUW held their spring luncheon at Bistro Soleil. The ladies celebrated the AAUW’s Marco Island Branch 40th Anniversary, awarded scholarship money to six deserving Marco Island women, and installed their executive officers for 2018-2020.

Lynn Tuttle and three-time Martha Yates Scholarship recipient Stephanie Pepper.

“We exceeded our fundraising goals in February at our Time, Talent, & Treasure Auction. We usually give $1,000 to each recipient. The goal was to give $1,500 this year. We exceeded our goal and were able to give $1,700 to each recipient, which is just fabulous,” exclaimed outgoing President Jacky Childress.

St. John’s High School student, Madeline Grucci, who plans to attend Boston College in the fall, received the 2018 High School Scholarship. 2018 Martha Yates Scholarship Recipients included: Laura Raymond, Sabrina Forlenza, Catherine Gorman, Rosemarie Fusco, and Stephanie Pepper.

For more information about applying to the Martha Yates Scholarship or the American Association of University Women (AAUW), go to

From left, Madeline Grucci, Jo Ann Ferrigno, Sabrina Forlenza, Colleen Moser, Catherine Gorman, Stephanie Pepper and Lynn Tuttle.
Colleen Moser with Catherine Gorman.
Jo Ann Ferrigno gives High School scholarship recipient Madeline Grucci a rose after announcing her award from the AAUW.
From left, Dolores Burton, Dianne Wetjen and Jacky Childress.