Noontime Rotary recognizes own


The Marco Island Rotary Club Noontime hosted a special evening of recognition on June 1, at the Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort and Spa, as it installed the 2018-2019 club officers and directors and awarded outstanding contributions by club members.

While enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres accompanied by the soft sounds of Billy Dean and Dawn, Club members listened attentively as outgoing President Tarik Ayasun reviewed the accomplishments of this past Rotary year including a review of the organizations supported in 2017-2018.

Outgoing Noontime Rotary president Tarik Ayasun and incoming president Pat Rutledge.

This list was filled with international and community-based groups that received almost $40,000 in assistance; the Club’s Rotary Scholarship Program which awards 3-4 $12,000 scholarships to graduating seniors each year, Meals of Hope, Seniors 4 Tomorrow’s Leadership, Rotary Youth Leadership Awards, Clubfoot International Service Project, Eyeglasses for Mexico, Project Graduation, Joy of Giving, Educate the Children, Collier Harvest, YMCA Summer Camp Program, Alzheimer’s Support Network, Marco Island Center for the Arts, Marco Island Historical Society, Shelter for Abused Women & Children, Habitat for Humanity, Meals on Wheels, St. Matthew’s House, The Gift of Life, Clean Water and Sanitation and a very special contribution of 300 wheelchairs, a $30,000 gift not included in the overall grant list, to the Rotary Global Wheelchair Project.

After a heart-felt “thank you” to the outgoing directors and board members, Ayasun and incoming president Pat Rutledge presented a series of club awards for outstanding service to Rotarian of the Year Linda Sandlin, Rising Star-Sue Haviland, Quiet Rotarian Tom Menaker, Outstanding Service-Pat Ettensohn, World Image-Prem Advani and the Making a Difference Award to Ron Rutledge.

Next was the presentation of a number of very special Rotary District Level Awards earned by club members this year which included The Club Governor’s Award, District Treasurer of the Year, Jennifer Tenney; District Secretary of the Year, Gwyn Steiner; District Sergeant at Arms, Phil Penzo, and the Interact Club Certificate of Distinction accepted by Lely Interact Club President Brielle Penzo.

If you are interested in more information regarding becoming a member of the Marco Island Rotary Club Noontime, contact Pat Rutledge at