Marco Island Center For the Arts awarded scholarships and merit awards to Collier County high school students at the 32nd annual Arts Scholarship Program, which was started in 1983.

The awards went to students in Collier County with the intention of continuing their education to keep the love of arts alive after high school. Continued education includes college coursework, classes, workshops and other activities that demonstrate the intent to pursue the creation and appreciation of the arts.

Student artwork from several Collier County high schools adorned the walls of the center. The advanced placement artwork for some students qualified them for college credits.

Judges included Emily James, Sandy Howe, and Tara O Neil. Parents, students, and guests attended the awards ceremony at the center where executive director Hyla Crane presented the awards.

Nancy Santucci, owner of Subway on Collier Boulevard, provided sandwiches and refreshments.

Scholarship winners include:

*1st place scholarship Marcela Londono $1,000 Palmeto Ridge High School;

* 2nd place scholarship $750 Tiffany Mayberry Gulf Coast High School;

* 3rd place $500 Chelsea Kennedy Lely High School;

* Honorable mention $100 gift card Kara Bressler Community School of Naples;

Merit awards winners $250 include:

* 1st place Selina Wagner Barron Collier High School;

* 2nd place Katherine Kurgis Community School of Naples;

* 3rd place Kimberly Cooper Barron Collier High School;

* Honorable Mention Kathleen Bailey Community School of Naples;

* Matthew Sabin Barron Collier High School Executive Director Special Award winner Clarissa Carmichael

Read or Share this story: