Marco Island Center for the Arts has announced the winners of a long standing awards program for Collier County high school junior and senior aspiring artists.

This scholarship program was established in 1983. Since then, over $200,000 has been given to eligible students.  Funding for the program comes from private donations and gives students an opportunity to exhibit their work and compete for awards. Scholarship money is given to the winning seniors and a $250 check each are given to the junior merit winners. Honorable Mention winners receive gift cards.

This year the scholarship and merit program awarded $3,400 among 10 winners from 31 students who competed.  Judging was based on an individual art piece for its quality, technique and originality.  The judges were Sandy Moore Howe, Tara O’Neill and Phyllis Pransky.

The 2017 senior scholarship award winners are:

Scholarship winners

  • First place, Glen and LaVonne Johnson Award, $1,000: Sabidio Borgela, Palmetto Ridge High
  • Second place, Emil and Gail Fischer Award, $750: Erika Acevedo, Naples High
  • Third place, $500: Taylor Carson, Naples High
  • Honorable mention, $100 gift cards: Brittany Nguyen, Barron Collier High; and Cassandra Southwick, Palmetto Ridge High

Merit winners

  • First place, $250: Monica Garcia, Palmetto Ridge High
  • Second place, $250: Jewel Hovland, Naples High
  • Third place, $250: Madison Szittai, Naples High
  • Honorable mention, $100 gift cards: Diana Garcia of Palmetto Ridge High; and Alyssa Yzaguirre, Palmetto Ridge High

Marco Island Center for the Arts is located at 1010 Winterberry Drive just off of Collier Boulevard. Contact the Art Center at 239-394-4221 or

Read or Share this story: