Marco Island Noontime Rotary announces first two Spirit award winners


The Noontime Rotary Club of Marco Island recently announced that Carl Titgemeier and Philip Penzo, were selected as the first two recipients of the 2018 Spirit of Marco Island Award.

Carl Titgemeier was taken by complete surprise at the recent YMCA Gala held at the Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort and Spa when a group of Rotarians from the Noontime Rotary Club made the announcement of his Spirit Award selection in front of a group of over 200 attendees.

Al Diaz of the Noontime Rotary Club surprises Carl Titgemeier with the announcement that he was selected as the 2018 Spirit of Marco Island Award Winner at the recent Y Gala” From left, Allyson and Jim Richards, Durell Buzzini, Diaz, Cindy Love and Carl Titgemeir.

Tigemeier, has been actively involved in the Marco Island community for over 20 years with a majority of his time dedicated to the Greater Marco Family YMCA. He has served on their Board of Directors in various positions, including president, vice-president of facility development and member of the finance committee.

He has been a driving force behind the Y’s expansion over the years and has been personally involved with its Capital Campaign and Improvements. Cindy Love the CEO of the Y, noted that “Carl is known as the “Go to Person” for guidance and wisdom and is also the “Get it Done Guy.”

Philip Penzo was also taken aback by the surprise announcement at a recent Noontime Rotary Club luncheon meeting held at Da Vinci’s Restaurant.

Penzo a former Marco Island Volunteer of the Year was recognized for his years of service to the Noontime Rotary Club and the Community. While recognizing Penzo it was noted that he was a person who would never say no. As the owner of the Marco Office Supply store, he has supported many island organizations, charities and events. 

Both Titgemeier and Penzo were moved by the presentations and expressed their humble gratitude.

Philip Penzo was recognized as the 2018 Spirit of Marco Island Awards Winner at a recent Noontime Rotary luncheon meeting. From left, Al Diaz, Pat Rutledge, Philip Penzo, Lynne Minozzi, Linda Sandlin and Durell Buzzini.

All of the honorees will be formally presented with their 2018 Spirit of Marco Island Award at the 10th Annual Spirit of Marco Island Gala Awards Dinner and Silent Auction to be held on Sunday, April 15, at the Bistro Soleil. Three additional recipients will be announced in the next few weeks.

This gala event recognizes individuals and organizations that are civically involved in the community through their contribution of time, talent and financial support to the community.

For more information and tickets for this event, contact Al Diaz at 438-5285 or by email at