Stonewalls top in senior softball

Bill Shurina Commissioner
  • Both tournament championship games came down to the last inning

The 2016 season ended with Stonewalls sweeping both the tournament as well as the league divisional championship this season.

The victorious Stonewalls side: standing, coach Scott Byers, Mike Walsh, Bruce Chambers, Dave Coward, Chet Dal Bianco, Bob Smith, Mgr Peter Karl, Coach Tom Porter, Jim Green, Doug Stang. Kneeling: John Luegering, Paul Womack, Tom Purtell, Stonewall sponsor Tim Burke, Chuck Cornellie, Leon Schmitt, Gary Schneider.

Speakeasy knocked off the Island Divisional champions Sand Bar to win the Island Divisional tournament. Both games came down to the last inning, with Stonewalls pulling out a 7 - 6 win over Mango's and Speakeasy 12 - 9 over Sand Bar.

SpeakEasy winning side members are Jimmy Cuevas, Mike Shone, Coach Steve Clark, Tom Buettner, Bob Grant, Dan Moriarty, Bob Monaco, Jerry Engel, Coach Tom Francese, Rich Krumholz. Kneeling, John Rysak, coach Al Lucchese, Tom Gazzillo, Mgr. Ray Kane, Mike Puskar, Mike Endelman (missing from photo coach John Coughlin).


Island Division tournament

March 22

Speakeasy 9 Nacho Mama’s 8

Speakeasy scored five runs in the sixth inning to overcome a 7 - 4 deficit, and held off a ninth inning rally by Nacho Mama’s to move on to the tournament championship game. Rich Krumholz, Tom Buettner and Tom Gazzillo lined three for Speakeasy, with Krumholz and Gazillo belting a home run and Buettner crushing a triple. Gazillo had three RBI and John Rysak two. Bill Wright had three hits for Nacho Mama’s one being a triple. Tom Angelo chased in three runs, Wright and Jim Ramage two.

Sand Bar 10 Mutual of Omaha Bank 6

Sand Bar closed the doors on the Bank’s season and advanced in the loser bracket of the tournament, setting up a show down with Nacho Mama’s. Jim George again was the catalyst for Sand Bar tagging the ball for three hits and driving in three runs; Butch Coursen and Jeff Kaczka drove in two. The Bank’s Mark Mekota went four for four; he and Bill Thompson had two RBI in the season finally.

March 24

Sand Bar 14 Nacho Mama’s 10

Sand Bar battled their way in the Island Division tournament championship game and ended Nacho’s Mama’s season behind the hitting of Jon Wiseman, Dan Gulick and Ron Peterson who had three hits. Gulick, Jim George and Jeff Hultgren each cracked a triple, with Gulick having three RBI, Wiseman and Hultgren two. Nacho’s Steve Hummel and Jim Ramage stroked three hits, with Ramage driving in three runs; Pete Oellrich and Gary LaMotte drove in two.

March 25

Speakeasy 12 Sand Bar 9

Speakeasy was down 9 -7 entering the top of the ninth inning when they erupted for five runs giving making them the Island Division tournament winner going undefeated. Rick Krumholz the “Laser” scorched the ball going five for five for Speakeasy with Jimmy Cuevas, Ray Kane, Dan Moriarty and Bob Monaco having three hits. Kane who hammered a two run home run had three RBI, Cuevas and Monaco two. Jim George lined three hits for Sand Bar with Jeff Kaczka hoisting a solo home run. Dan Gulick and Tom Bishard drove in two runs each in the season finally.

Marco Division tournament

March 23

Mango’s 13 Crazy Flamingo 1

Mango’s and Crazy Flamingo battled through all seven innings before Mango’s was able to move on the championship game and end Crazy Flamingo’s season. Warren Uhl led Mango’s drilling three hits; Jim Baumann, Paul Vorwick and Jim White had two. Bob Traver and White launched a solo home run, with Baumann cracking a triple. Baumann racked up five RBI while Uhl picked up two. John Cavanagh and Don Schwartz had two hits for Flamingo’s, one of Cavanagh’s being a three-run homer giving him four RBI in the game, Steve Slaggie drove in two runs.

March 18

Stonewalls 7 Mango’s 6

Stonewalls trailed Mango’s 6 - 5 going into the bottom of the ninth when John Luegering‘s third hit of the game drove in the tying and winning run. This made Stonewalls the Marco Division tournament championship winners, giving them a clean sweep for the season - having already won the league division championship. Teammates Tom Purtell, Jim Green, and Paul Womack had two hits with Bob Smith crushing a triple giving him two RBI in the game. Mango’s Warren Uhl pummeled the ball for four hits; Joe Barry, Paul Vorwick, Dan Stanard and Jack Mateja had two, with Vorwick picking up two RBI>

Stonewalls enjoys the moment: from left, statistician Chuck Cornellie, coach Scott Byers, manager Peter Karl, Commissioner Bill Shurina, Stonewall sponsor Tim Burke, coach Tom Porter.


Marco Island Senior Softball would like to thank all of our sponsors, fans, local newspapers, and the Marco Island Parks and Recreation Department for making 2016 another successful season. This year the league expanded to another division comprised of two team to accommodate the more than two hundred individuals wanting to play in the League. More information on Marco Island Senior Softball can be obtained on our website

League Commissioner Bill Shurina presents SpeakEasy manager Ray Kane of Speakeasy with the Island Division tournament Trophy.